Coming soon to a computer screen near you: Malaysians will be able to watch city and district council meetings live online.

The initiative will first be piloted in six districts and cities by the end of the year, but will eventually be expanded to all local councils, said Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan (pictured), Minister for Urban Wellbeing and Local Government.

The six councils are: Johor Bahru City Council, Pontian District Council (Johor state), Alor Setar City Council (Kedah state), Kuantan Municipal Council (Pahang state), Maran District Council (Pahang state), and Marang District Council (Terengganu state).

“In addition to knowing how the taxes paid are used, the initiative will also enable residents to know the development plans and their management by the respective local authorities in a more open manner,” Minister Abdul Rahman said.