Welcome to the fifth edition of GovInsider’s Women in GovTech special report. This year we celebrate the stories of 55 inspiring people who are pushing the boundaries of what’s possible in the public sector.

We asked each of them how they will challenge themselves in 2020. From Mars missions to 5G, these women are thinking about and shaping how governments use technology to improve lives. They are looking at how new frontiers like artificial intelligence will reshape societies, jobs and international relations.

This special report shows that there are brilliant women working on public sector innovation across the world, and there is more than enough room for them to have prominent roles at GovTech conferences.

But it’s clear that their achievements are not just about the tech. They are proud of the people they work with and citizens they serve. They want to build teams and support colleagues to take risks and try new things.

Meet the Women in GovTech 2019.


Jane Thomason, CEO, Fintech Worldwide

Lucy Poole, Head of Government Digital Experience, Digital Transformation Agency

Sarah Pearson, Chief Innovation Officer & Chief Scientist, Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade


Vichekal Tema, Deputy Chief Administration Officer, Phnom Penh Capital Administration


Liz McKeown, Faculty, Digital Academy, Canada School of Public Service


Rikke Zeberg, Director-General, Agency for Digitisation, Ministry of Finance


Liisa Past, Chief National Cyber Risk Officer, National Security and Defence Coordination Unit, Government Office


Laure Lucchesi, Director, EtaLab


Barbara Ubaldi, Team Lead, Digital Government and Open Data, OECD

Dato’ Seri Maimunah Sharif, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director, UN Habitat

Lesly Goh, Senior Technology Advisor, World Bank

Mia Mikic, Director, Trade, Investment and Innovation Division, UN ESCAP

Shirin Hamid, Principal Director & CIO, Asian Development Bank


Ahyani Raksanagara, Department of Development Planning and Research, Bandung City Government

A. S. Kartika, Software Developer, ICT Agency, Samarinda Local Government (East Kalimantan)

Atalia Praratya, Head of Family Welfare Empowerment, West Java Provincial Government

Ika Mardiah, Head of E-Procurement, West Java Provincial Government

Nining Sri Puji Astuti, Computer Engineer, Library and Archive Agency, West Kalimantan Provincial Government

Sofiarti Dyah Anggunia, System Analyst, West Kalimantan Provincial Government

Tuty Kusumawati, Head, Empowerment, Child Protection and Population Control Office, Jakarta Capital City Government


Dr Mary Aiken, Associate Professor, Department of Law and Criminology, University of East London & Cyberpsychologist


Dr Neeta Verma, Director General, National Informatics Centre


Ishizuka Sayaka, IT Specialist, Yokohama City Government

Mika Nakano, Director, Information Project Office, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry


Hanissull Jalis bt Md Yusof, Deputy Director, Application Development Division, MAMPU

Siti Sapura Binti Raffee, Deputy Director, ICT Consultancy Division, MAMPU


Justyna Orłowska, Director, GovTech Poland


Chloe Yao, Senior Delivery Manager, Agile Consulting and Engineering, Government Digital Services, GovTech

Elaine Phang, Chief Information Officer, National Environment Agency

Hazel Moi, Director, Information Technology Department, Intellectual Property Office of Singapore

Hefen Wong, Director, Technology Management Office, GovTech

Wong Hui Yi, Senior Manager, Engineering Programme Office, Public Sector Science And Technology Policy and Plans Office, Prime Minister’s Office

Dr Jade Kua, Senior Consultant, Emergency Medicine Department, KK Women and Children’s Hospital

Jeanette Kwek, Deputy Director, Strategic Futures, Ministry of Defence

Ong Lay Teen, Senior Systems Engineer, Sensors & IoT, GovTech

Liana Tang, Deputy Head and Deputy Director, Centre for Strategic Futures, Strategy Group, Prime Minister’s Office

Mavis Tan, Director of Human Resource, Civil Service College

Mei Hui Tan, Cyber Security Specialist, Cyber Security Group, GovTech

Sabrina Luk Ching Yuen, Assistant Professor, Public Policy and Global Affairs, Nanyang Technological University

Goh Siew Lee, Deputy Director, Joint Capabilities (Sense-making & Surveillance), Home Team Science & Technology Agency, Ministry of Home Affairs

Quek Su Lynn, Director, Government Data Office, Smart Nation Digital Government Office

Tamsin Greulich-Smith, Chief, Smart Health Leadership Centre

Weng Wanyi, Deputy Director (Plans), Home Team Science & Technology Agency, Ministry of Home Affairs

South Korea

Sujung Kim, Director, Big Data Promotion Division, Artificial Intelligence Policy Bureau, Ministry of Science and ICT


Audrey Tang, Digital Minister

Hui-Min Chen, Chief Secretary, Department of Information Technology, Taipei City Government

Shuyang Lin, Co-Founder, Public Digital Innovation Space


Airada Luangvilai, Senior Executive Vice President, Digital Government Development Agency

Kalaya Puvanant, Public Sector Development Expert, Office of the Public Sector Development Commission

Krithpaka Boonfueng, Deputy Executive Director (Innovation System), National Innovation Agency

Theresa Mathawaphan, Chief Strategy Officer, National Innovation Agency

Voranuch Dejakaisaya, Chief Information & Operations Officer, Bank of Ayudhya (Krungsri)

United Kingdom

Helen Wall, National Lead, Government Digital Service

Jessica McEvoy, Deputy Director for UK & International, Government Digital Service


Phi Van Nguyen, Chairwoman, Open Innovation Vietnam