Gov Tech was, in its inception, mostly performed by women. But this is not as empowering as it sounds. As the Wall Street Journal recently noted: “it was thought of as menial labor, like factory work… a kind of ‘women’s work’ that wasn’t considered intellectual”. How utterly mistaken.

Once men started to work in this field, government computing’s prestige increased. In turn, women found it harder to secure appointments and – in some cases – officials were ‘encouraged’ to retire as soon as they had children.

This special report shows how times have changed. GovInsider has interviewed Ministers; Chief Executives; and Ambassadors across the world, all of whom are in roles that require technology.

We have also interviewed up-and-coming coders; comms professionals; data scientists and developers.

The whole spectrum of government innovation is displayed within these interviews. They are fantastic.

We hope that you find these interviews as inspiring – and awesome – as we did. Meet the Women in GovTech 2017.


Gail Fairlamb, Director, ‎Strategic Engagement, Department of Premier and Cabinet, South Australia


Olivia Neal, Executive Director, Digital Change, Chief Information Officer Branch, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat


Dorte Bech Vizard, Ambassador of Denmark to Singapore and Brunei


Urve Palo, Minister of Entrepreneurship and Information Technology

Kätlin Kattai, Head of Client and International Relations, Centre of Registers and Information Systems

Hong Kong

Cari Wu, Senior Systems Manager (Cyber Security), Office of the Government Chief Information Officer


Radha Chauhan, CEO, Government e-Marketplace


Susi Pudjiastuti, Minister of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries

Musdhalifah Machmud, Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture, Coordinating Ministry for Economic Affairs

Ahyani Raksanagara, Head of Department of Communication and Informatics, Bandung

Antiek Sugiharti, Head of ICT, Surabaya

Fajar Nugrahaini, Head of Road Based Transport, Department of Transport, Jakarta

Fithya Findie, Head of Secretariat, Open Government Indonesia

Tuty Kusumawati, Head of the Regional Development Planning Board, Jakarta

Wise Citra Dewi, Head of Administrative, Jakarta Smart City Unit


Tan Poh Choo, Operations Director for Singapore, SAS

Chiang Yoke Fun, Head of Consulting Services Singapore, SAS

Chan Shu Ling, Marketing Lead, Singapore, SAS


Dr Suhazimah Dzazali, Government Chief Information Officer


Fathimath Lahfa, Director, Performance Management, Civil Service Commission


Dr San San Aye, Deputy Director General, Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement

New Zealand

Lianne Dalziel, Mayor of Christchurch

Sri Lanka

Chitranganie Mubarak, Chairwoman, ICT Agency


Jacqueline Poh, Chief Executive, GovTech

Charis Yan, Chief Information Officer, Ministry of Communications and Information & Infocomm Media Development Authority

Tham Mei Leng, Chief Information Security Officer, Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources

Cheryl Sim, Director, Infocomm Technology Division, People’s Association

Poh Lai Khim, Assistant Commissioner of the Taxpayer Services Division, Inland Revenue Authority Of Singapore

Koh Suat Hong, Deputy Director, Accreditation, Industry Development Group, IMDA

Tan Siew Hong, Lead Infrastructure Architect, Government Infrastructure Group, GovTech

Catherine Goh, Deputy Director, Government Business Management Division, GovTech

Rachel Lim, Executive Manager, Product Management Division, GovTech

Goh Siew Hong, Senior Systems Engineer, Systems & Technology Division, GovTech

Jennifer Soh, Associate Cybersecurity Specialist, Cyber Security Group, GovTech

Yang Lijia, Associate Software Engineer, Product Design & Development Division, GovTech

Celine Chia, Systems Engineer, Systems & Technology Division, GovTech

Lam Shi Ling, Software Engineer, Product Design & Development Division, GovTech

Nina Ee, UX Designer, Agile Consulting and Engineering, GovTech

South Korea

Young-sook Nam, Secretary-General, WeGO

Dr Eun Ju Kim, Director, Cloud Promotion Centre in Public Sector, National Information Society Agency


Francesca Bria, Chief Technology and Digital Innovation Officer, Barcelona City Council


Audrey Tang, Digital Minister


Airada Luangvilai, Senior Executive Vice President, Electronic Government Agency